Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins

20130619-223034.jpgI have a bit of a sweet tooth. Ok. That’s a lie. I have a mouth full of sweet teeth. Growing up, I always loved to eat sweet stuff for breakfast. My mom always made us eat well balanced lunches and dinners, but when it came to breakfasts, my mom let us eat Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Count Chocula, and Lucky Charms. Mmmm. I still love all these cereals. I think the weight I put on in college was probably from eating tons of sugar cereals from the dining hall. Although I don’t eat sugar cereals for breakfast anymore too often, I still love a sweet treat for breakfast. That’s where the idea for Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins came from. I know, it’s a mouthful. But these muffins themselves are a mouthful.

20130619-223052.jpgI wanted to make a quick, sweet breakfast to grab and go. I thought muffins would be a perfect, grownup sweet breakfast. They just needed to be tasty, healthy and filling and these muffins fulfill all three requirements. They’re made with simple, whole ingredients that you would eat for breakfast: Peanut butter, banana, old fashioned oats and milk. And of course, cinnamon. Because cinnamon makes everything better! And even better, these muffins have NO butter and NO oil, and they are still super moist and super delicious. You can definitely feel good about eating these for breakfast because of all the good-for-you ingredients!20130619-223101.jpgAnother great thing about these muffins, is that they are super easy to make, they don’t require a mixer and they use up those brown, overripe bananas you have sitting on your counter. How do you make these muffins in a DASH?

First, combine the flour, old fashioned oats, salt, cinnamon and baking powder in a bowl and set aside. Next smash two overripe bananas, and mix this with the peanut butter and egg until well combined. You’ll need to use a little elbow grease to really combine the peanut butter and the egg together.

20130619-223405.jpgAdd the remaining “wet” ingredients and stir until combined. Then add the dry ingredients to the mixed wet ingredients. The batter will still be a little thin and a little lumpy and will look like this:

20130619-223611.jpgFill a greased or lined muffin pan with the batter. Be sure to fill cups all the way to the top!

Bake, and be prepared for healthy, moist, muffin heaven.20130619-223621.jpg

Now, I’m going to share a little extra decadence with you. The muffins, as is, are delicious, but if you want to bring them OVER-THE-TOP, you can add a cinnamon sugar topping. It is perfect, little something extra that makes these “weekend muffins”, or what I call breakfast.

To keep these muffins butter-free, you can just dip the top of the muffins in a bowl of cinnamon sugar mixture. Just roll the top around when the muffins are still warm and the cinnamon sugar will stick right to it.

20130619-223120.jpgNow, take a big bite into this soft, moist, peanut buttery, slightly sweet, banana-y, oaty muffin.

20130619-223159.jpg

The muffins are not too sweet, and the peanut butter taste is not overwhelming. I tried to add more peanut butter, but it made the muffins really dense. I wanted a lighter muffin, which is what these are. If you want more peanut butter flavor, you could try adding chopped peanuts to the batter, or make a peanut crumb topping. But, I loved these muffins just the way they are. What could be better than peanut butter and banana combo?! Adding oats to it and eating it warm for breakfast. Yum!20130619-223139.jpg20130619-223131.jpgRecipe: Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins
Makes 12 large muffins

Ingredients:

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup of old fashioned oats
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (I used Skippy creamy peanut butter)
  • 2 medium overripe bananas (~ 1 cup)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 and 1/4 cups milk (I used 1%, but use whatever you have)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
  2. In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients and set aside.
  3. In another large bowl, smash the bananas and beat in the peanut butter and egg till well combined. Then add brown sugar, vanilla and milk and stir until blended.
  4. Add the mixed dry ingredients to the bowl containing the wet ingredients and stir. Batter will be a little thin and a little lumpy (See picture above).
  5. Fill prepared muffin cups with batter and bake for 15-18 minutes until toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Allow muffins to cool for a few minutes before adding cinnamon sugar topping

Cinnamon sugar topping!

  • 2 tablespoons of white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Combine cinnamon and sugar in a bowl and dip and roll top of muffin in until coated.
Enjoy!  : )

Recipe source: deliciousinadash.wordpress.com

If you like these muffins – try some of my other peanut butter and oatmeal recipes:

The Best Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookies, ever (I’m serious)

The Best Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookies.jpgNo Bake Butterscotch Oatmeal Bars

No-bake Butterscotch Oatmeal bars.jpgMaple Pecan Quinoa Granola

Maple Pecan Quinoa Granola.jpgMaple Almond Cinnamon Granola

Maple Almond Cinnamon Granola

71 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Hi! These look great. One question: you mention egg several times but egg is not listed as one of the wet ingredients. How many eggs do you use?

    • Hi Teri! Oh my goodness! I accidentally left out the egg in the recipe section. Thank you so much for catching my mistake. I used 1 large egg and I mix it in after I mix the mashed banana with the peanut butter.
      Please let me know how you like them!

  2. I just gave your recipe a whirl and they turned out fantastic, thank you! Just wanted to let you know though that you mention beating an egg in your instructions, but the egg isn’t listed under ingredients for the recipe. :)

    • Hi! I’m so glad you made them and you liked them! A blogger yesterday noticed the missing egg and I discovered that somehow the 1 large egg got cut off during formatting. Thanks!

    • Hi Laurie!
      I’m so glad you enjoyed them and made a healthier variation! Wheat germ is a very smart addition! Yes, I love these muffins for breakfast! It’s really great to know that they freeze well too! Happy Baking!

  3. I want to try making these soon. My wife and I are counting calories and carbs. Just in case anyone’s interested, I searched for all the ingredients and counted them up. About 2115 calories and 284 carbs for the whole batch or 176 calories, 24 carbs assuming you split the batch into 12 muffins. Thanks for the recipe!

  4. What a great blog! I’m fairly new to baking/cooking (for more than myself) and with our busy lifestyles, fast, healthy and delicious food is a must. I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog!

    Quick question about flour – is all-purpose flour a must or can it be substituted with whole wheat flour? Does it make a difference in baking at all (time, amount of flour, etc.)?

    Thanks!

    • Thanks! I haven’t baked these muffins with whole wheat flour, but I imagine that they will be more dense if you substitute whole wheat flour in place of all purpose. If you don’t want the muffins to be too dense you could substitute 1/2 the flour with whole wheat flour. I think the baking time should be the same. If you try it, please let me know how they turn out!

  5. Thanks for this recipe! I loved not using butter or oil! I made mine with whole wheat flower, added a banana and an egg to make it a bit more moist and balance the whole wheat flower. I also added, chocolate chips, walnuts and coconut. They turned out super moist and equally delicious! :D

  6. Thanks for the versatile recipe! I made a number of alterations out of necessity (forgot I used up my oats to make granola so I used the granola and a little oat bran, had buttermilk to be used up, didn’t quite have enough brown sugar so added some molasses) and baked three mini loaves instead of muffins. They turned out wonderful.

  7. A recipe without oil, sugar or butter–thank you! Not that I don’t love those additions, but I bake quite often, so recipes that call for them less are helpful. These are baking now (8.12.13) in the A.M. for breakfast. Smell delicious, can’t wait to pass around to the family. Thank you for sharing-definitely pinning.

  8. FWIW, I made these with gluten-free all purpose flour and oats (both Bob’s Red Mill) for my Celiac twins. I did sub light brown sugar for dark, used a low-sugar skim milk (Mootopia), and added 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips. They turned out OK, and they taste pretty good. The batter was very, very runny, which let the oats and choc. Chips sink to the bottom of the batter. They took about 23 minutes to bake. Next time, I think I will probably try 1/2 cup peanut butter and just 1 cup of the milk. Thanks for the easy and hopefully stick-to-the-ribs recipe.

    • Hi Gwyn,
      Thanks for letting me know. With the original ingredients posted in the recipe, the oats don’t sink to the bottom and the batter is not runny. I wonder if all the substitutions made the batter more runny. Did you use natural peanut butter? I always bake with non-natural peanut butter. Please let me know if you find a solution that makes a gluten free version!

  9. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins – Baking Adventures

  10. Pingback: Woo! | Delicious in a DASH

  11. Pingback: Grijze jager schooltraktatie | Finkelstein & sons

  12. Pingback: Baking…Bangla Style | Randy and Katie's Excellent Adventure

  13. I followed the recipe and thought 1tbsp of baking powder was alot. I can definitely taste the baking powder. I found the muffins to be okay….my husband will definitely not eat them.

    • Hi Cecili, I’m sorry they didn’t turn out well. I’ve never been able to taste the baking powder in the muffins before – but I will try reducing it by half (probably don’t need a whole tbsp) and I’ll post an update. Thanks for letting me know!

  14. Just made a batch of these muffins- yum!! The recipe made 24 mini muffins and 6 regular size. The mini’s cooked in about 12 minutes. They are so moist and not overly sweet. Can’t wait for my 20 month old to try them when she gets up from her nap!

  15. Pingback: Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins | climbing the crazy tree

  16. I just made these and realized I only added 1/3 cup of brown sugar and they still turned out great! I also used 1 cup of milk and 1/4 of Cin. Applesauce and they are very moist!

  17. So delicious! I subbed unsweetened almond milk for the 1% milk and they turned out great! Also used light brown sugar! I like these muffins because they aren’t overly sweet and no oil or butter! Keeper for sure! Thanks

  18. I just pulled these out of the oven. I subbed coconut milk, since that’s what I had available, and added some chocolate chips. And I sprinkled the cinnamon and Turbinado sugar on half of them before popping them in the oven. They are delicious! I only wish I had added some nuts or seeds for a satisfying crunch. Thanks for the recipe.

  19. Hi! I needed to use up some bananas, and I also promised my hubby banana muffins since of just made chocolate cupcakes for myself and he’s not a huge fan (I know! What’s WRONG with him, right!?) … I was actually searching for an eggless recipe, as I’m out of eggs…. I’m also out of baking powder. I forgot about that until I was half way through. But my bananas were not mashing right, and I thought it might be due to them not being over ripe enough. So I added a dose of lemon juice to soften them up. I figured the addition of lemon juice justified my use of baking soda instead of baking powder… I used corn syrup instead of the egg, because it contained vanillin, which made up for the vanilla… all in all, the batter was downright tasty (who doesn’t sample….)… The muffins came out a bit flat but I think we both know why… :P Still, . They were incredibly moist and tasty! They also get the toddler seal of approval from my son. :)

  20. Licking the bowl was pure delight! They’re in the oven right now and I’m sure they’ll turn out super. I used half the amount of sugar and they’re still PLENTY sweet, probably because of the way-ripe bananas. Thanks! I didn’t realize until after-the-fact that there’s no oil, which makes this an even better recipe.

  21. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Muffins - Baking Adventures In A Messy Kitchen

  22. OK! You hit my favorite muffin spot by adding PEANUT BUTTER!!!
    Yeah! A hit! Used my stick blender for PB egg and bananas and whipped them up in a jiffy.
    Moist, delicious, nutritious – no guilt breakfast.
    Thanks!

  23. Pingback: Spices in My DNA | Banana Peanut Butter Oatmeal Muffins

  24. Pingback: Healthy Oats Banana Date Peanut Butter Muffin | asianspanishfusion

  25. We just made these and they were great! It made 12 normal sized muffins and 22 mini muffins. We also only had one banana so we added some plain greek yogurt as well. They were moist and delicious!

  26. I just finished baking and sampling this recipe. I had to use up some bananas and happen to have a surplus of peanut butter for some reason so I thought I’d give it a go as it looked pretty easy…and it is! I followed your recipe to the letter and the muffins turned out very moist. I had to bake them for over 20 mins (everyone’s oven is different and it’s a very “liquid-y” batter).

    I found them to be pretty flavour-free except for the cinnamon sugar topping. I think next time I will add more cinnamon to the recipe and possibly some allspice…? They just need a bit more oomph. What do you think about adding blueberries or some other fruit to them? Have you tried that? I like the idea posted above of using applesauce but I’m not sure what she substituted it for.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • Hi Jennifer,
      Sorry that they weren’t that flavorful for you. I haven’t tried adding fruit, but it should work! If you add blueberries or some other small, not frozen, fruit you won’t need to sub anything out. It should probably work fine. Feel free to add more cinnamon or any other spice you like. Please let me know how it goes!

  27. i made these with almond milk and rice flour, added chocolate chips and halved the sugar :) also used crunchy peanut butter and added a little ginger with the cinnamon for that delicious spice kick. thanks so much!

  28. Just made these today! Very good. I added coconut as someone else suggested, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. They have just the right amount of peanut butter, and they’re very moist. Thank you!

  29. Pingback: Chocolate Coconut Granola | Delicious in a DASH

  30. Hi! I just mixed up a batch of these muffins, and I followed your recipe to the letter and added a cup of dark chocolate chips and a cup of chopped walnuts. The batter was no thinner than other muffin recipes than I have utilized. Sometimes people expect a thicker batter similar to a cake or cupcake batter. This is why muffins, while moist, are light and not dense in texture. The recipe produced 12 regular size muffins and 3 super size. Baking is much more precise chemistry than savory cooking, so when people alter your recipe and then do not have a good outcome, it is because they actually tested a different recipe. Thank you for this recipe– a great special treat breakfast! A moist, light texture and lots of flavor!

  31. I made these muffins and they were AWESOME! These three ingredients happen to be some of my breakfast favorites as well. Looking forward to trying these soon! your photos are stunning!

  32. Pingback: Due Date Muffins | Redeeming Naptime

  33. Pingback: Healthy Muffins No Butter « Healthfood Tips

  34. Pingback: Two Minute Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal | Delicious in a DASH

Leave a Reply

